School is starting soon and I’ve decided to give my hair a new colour. Thus, I went to the supermarket, Fairprice Xtra to look for the hairdyes. Indeed, there was so many brands and colours to choose from, like Liese, Loreal, Revlon, and some many other unfamiliar brands, I choose Gatsby.

Perhaps, I thought the colour would look nice on my head, and of course, I was on a budget, so I’ve decided to go for a cheaper one that my usual choice, Liese.

In the end I bought this Gatsby Bubble Type Bleach & Color in Antique Brown…Image

Perhaps, the hairdye was for men, since the model on the box was a guy, but still, I’ve decided to try it on my hair! 🙂

Image

The instructions on the box, similar to Liese’s. Nothing complicated.

ImageSo here’s the shade of brown that I’m most likely to expect, a darker type of brown.

Image

And here’s the what you can expect colour from different shades of hair. But still, don’t expect much from self-hairdyes.

Image

What you can find from the box: A pair of rubber gloves, A set of instructions, A nozzle cap, A bottle of solution and A bottle of colour.

Image

So, you’re supposed to add the colour to the solution bottle…and SHAKE WELL!

Image

Change the cap to the nozzle one. And let’s start dyeing!

Image

Before: Taken with camera flashlight.

Image

After: With camera flashlight again!

Image

And, under normal lighting, my hair looks dark brown:D

Of course, I think that Gatsby hair dye has it both pros and cons…

Pros: 

  • Even hair dye from roots to tip, the colour is pretty much evenly spread out.
  • Waiting time is short, takes about 25mins only!
  • The strong hair dye smell (ammonia) DOES NOT EXIST! It doesn’t have much smell except some nice floral smell.

Cons:

  • The hair dye mix was so strong that my scalp was hurting and pricking when I was dyeing my hair! And my skin turn red too! Definitely not for sensitive skin!
  • After washing out the dye, my hair was in terrible condition, SUPER DRY AND HARD! I had to use lots of conditioner on my hair, and even so, my hair keeps tangling itself.

Perhaps, visiting a salon for a hair dye would still be the best, but if you’re on a budget, perhaps you might want to try out Gatsby, but be prepared to buy a super good conditioner for your aftercare.

Else, I would still prefer Liese or Loreal.

So, what’s your preferred brand?

Leave a Reply

