Saying Goodbye to Braces

13.11.14

The day I will remember for life.

The day where I am given a new phase of life.

The day where I could start afresh, with a fresh new look.

Thank you braces, you did your job well.

Braces have always been part of my life for the past 2years 3months and 2 years 7months (I had the lower braces removed earlier than the upper one). Without them, my life would have such a drastic change, especially in making friends (placing heavier emphasis on the opposite gender). It has given me a whole new self, not just straightening my teeth, but rather… (I suppose I’ll give you a 10 good reasons why you should get braces! … wait a minute, I think 3 SOLID GOOD REASONS would be more than sufficient).

1.Braces are cool.

Nowadays braces come in all sorts of shapes, sizes and even designs, from the classic metal braces to damon braces (invisible braces, what they call it in Singapore) to the newly introduced, invisalign. Just the metal brackets alone, they have like flower shapes, heart shapes, diamond and even mickey mouse ones instead of the classic square. There are also the ligatures (which are the colour rubber bands), they have a wide variety of colours to choose from. You could get like the neons ones, the glow in the dark, the pastel or any shade of colour that you would like. HOW COOL CAN IT BE!

2. Braces builds confident

Are you one of those that are frequently bullied for being ugly? Are you one of those that were often called bugs bunny because you had protruding teeth? Or are you one of those that feels inferior because you do not have a beautiful smile (straight set of teeth) like those pretty girls in school that are surrounded by friends and following suit is a crowd of the opposite gender? Well, braces is the best solution that will solve everything. Everything and anything. It may be a tough journey, but as your teeth starts straightening, the results will starts surfacing. You’ll feel more confident with people saying you look prettier and most importantly, being able to let out a wide smile in PHOTOS even when you are wearing braces.

3. Braces instantly transform you from ugly to… PRETTY / HANDSOME!

No jokes. I am being 100% serious over here. For those who have overbite, underbite or those that have uneven alignment of teeth to the extent where both jaws can’t rest properly, which results in you having to leave your jaws open instead of closed, braces would help to solve them. They will straighten your teeth, re-align your jaws where they would fit perfectly over the other. Instead of a longer jaw-line, you would have a shorter jaw-line now since you could close your mouth instead of leaving them open because the teeth don’t fit. This will instantly, make you look way prettier than before. I know it because this was what happened to me.

ENOUGH SAID, I’ll prove it to you.

(Warning: The following photo may be of discomfort or shocking to those, scroll down slowly…I’m serious here!)

2012-04-15 23.35.39

This was taken way back in April 2012, where I had finished putting the spacers and had my molar rings banded, with 4 pre-molars removed.

You could see how bad my condition was, my teeth didn’t fit because they overlap with one another and I could not close my mouth at all. How annoying. Also, because it was so difficult and tough to brush teeth, to the extend my teeth started yellowing as well.

That’s the reason why I was banded with the ugly girl title in school, how everyone said I was ugly, and I never smiled in any of my photos…

UNTIL NOW…p1070644_副本I can FINALLY let out a nice teethy smile, confidently and proudly say, “hey, I look prettier than before!” 

p1070641_副本

And continue snapping a few more photos of the braces before it’s time for them to be removed!

p1070640_副本

Yes braces, I will miss you even if you are off and away from my life. I always love how you were on my teeth, looking forward to each and every appointments with Dr Ivan because I could get to change the colours of the ligatures and it gets me excited seeing how each and every of my tooth move, day by day, while staring hard in the mirror in amazement. Despite all the pain and aching, inability to chew or bite food, the numbness and soring of teeth, everything that I had endured was proven worthwhile with the end product of a beautiful set of teeth.

Thank you braces. ❤

And Dr Ivan as well for his amazing skills and experiences to entertain and reduce my discomfort.

Here’s a video that I filmed myself on the actual day of my braces removal. I didn’t add any background music as I wanted to keep it as a footage for memory sake. (Warning: watch it if you have the patience)

3 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to Braces

  1. good for you kid! i’m proud of you. You fight the right battles, life gets easier. (fight the wrong battles…) this was a good fight. What a relief to have them off,eh? cuter than ever! …Now, if we could only do something about that hair…hehe… i miss the bangs look 😦
    yan had braces in her 30’s. it was a lot harder, but well worth it, even so. why do singapore girls have such bad teeth??? She’s in the plane today, on her way to singapore, visit family. so if you see a really short girl with really good teeth on orchard road, say hello! it’s probably her. almost wish i was going, i would love to meet you. 😉 hipgraham@yahoo.ca

    • Thank you. BUT it wasn’t really a relief to get them off. I miss them so badly HAHAHA. Braces are like so cool. Having no braces is like not cool at all. For the teeth looks so plain and ordinary. They should have some colours like what the coloured ligatures does, make the teeth stand out 😛
      Wow that’s cool!

      • didn’t know you’d written a reply! so pleased to see it. 🙂 have you tried to picture yourself wiht coloured teeth??!! top row blue, bottom row red… or maybe black and white alternating? no girl no…I don’t think it will ever catch on! hehe

Leave a Reply

