May

Hooray to the start of May! The torturous month of April is finally over and that continuous non-stop 16 days routine had finally come to its end. I’m finally having my rest day TOMORROW! Say yeah to sleeping without having an alarm clock to make you jump out of bed and the countless snooze button to press. Guess what, I’m all done booking all my Hong Kong hotels and Shenzhen hotels. All I need now is to spend some quality time researching on the places of interests, attractions, food and shopping! Then I have plan my itinerary and print the important documents…

I’m so happy to have completed one of the must-do checklist:

Travelling alone.

Also, my birthday is round the corner on the 18th which is like next next monday. Even though I have no intentions of celebrating my 21st at all… still, I booked a hotel and invited a few friends to come over. Maybe a simple cake-cutting and some drinking time. That’s it. No parties, nothing fancy. I guess.

I miss grandma actually. She promised to celebrate and throw a party for me and the fact that she left, made me even sadder. For I was really hoping she could be the one by my side celebrating my 21st. In order to reminisce her presence and to make up for absence, I decided to have a theme for my birthday which is ” A Night in Shanghai” which set the scene to be in the 1930s-1940s. Old vintage Shanghai charm. French colonial houses and neon lights. Beautiful ladies with permed hair and donned in the most exquisite lace cheong sam, with the brightest shade of red lips and cat-eye. Yes, I wanted that kind of feel.

IMG_3869The e-invite that I created. Black and red, the common colors that signify shanghai night theme and the touch of intriguing chinese lace details.  I love it.

IMG_3873

Of course, I decided to implement a dress code. I wanted something different, a theme that set itself aside from the common theme like All Black, Back to School, colour codes. Then I came to a decision for Shanghai Night.

Many of my friends are actually procrastinating about the theme and how ridiculous it was, but I didn’t care. I wanted this theme all along since grandma was around. I had it in my head how things would be like. The theme actually came about to suit grandma because she always wore mandarin collars tops and vintage tops and bottoms. Thus, in order to have a theme that would not make her feel like left-out, I decided why not let the theme revolve around her. Although she left, I’m still going ahead with the same theme.

Of course, I have made the dress code more flexible. If you were to google “night shanghai dress code” you would probably received results of ladies in beautiful cheongsam but since it is going to be a small birthday celebration, I decided to make do with dress or tops with mandarin collar design or lace details. It doesn’t have to be full lace, but partial would do. Of course, red lips is still a must.

I wish that my friends could understand me, but sadly, they don’t except for Glad.

There’s so many thing to do now, I don’t know where to start from. I’m contemplating whether to invite any guys since I had barely or nearly no guy friends beside for the 3 poly mates that I know and the girl’s boyfriends…Sigh.

11 thoughts on “May

  1. hi Yun Yun, Gary told me that you are going to visit Hong Kong soon, do you want to have a tour guide? if so, I would be the one for you! I could bring you travel around and go for shopping. Please let me know. ^^

    • Hello! I will be meeting my uncle in hong kong, he’ll bring me to shop and eat. Do you have any shopping places to recommend for cheap girls clothing?

    • Elle! Geezz, you sound like a tour guide! You’re just a friend. I keep thinking about that sausage and beer place that you were going to go to…and call me graham, or professor. i like that. 🙂

      • Yes professor, I am a professional tour guide! 😛 I always bring my China colleauges or friends shopping around and hanging out.

        Yun Yun, if you want to buy some cheap and fashionable clothes, I recommand you go to Mongkok. There are a lot of small shopping centers with fashionable cheap clothes, they are very suitable for young and pretty girls such as you. I will be available on weekend and I can bring you there. I am familiar with Mongkok because I am living there. Please let me know your itinerary. Looking forward to seeing you soon.

  2. really? no? you don’t want to meet anyone? Ellen will be so disappointed. Me too. China can be dangerous.lot’s of pick pockets. ofcourse, you can speak mandarin…so it will be easier for you.oh…wait…did i read that right? No…not possible…uncle? you’re going to see your uncle! you have a family member that you still like!    That’s good news. honest. All kidding aside, it is.   i suspose you think i’m silly ( I am. ask anyone)but  sometimes i worry about you like a father would would worry about a daughter.

    From: T H E D R E A M E R To: hipgraham@yahoo.ca Sent: Tuesday, May 5, 2015 9:52 AM Subject: [New post] May #yiv2873876659 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv2873876659 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv2873876659 a.yiv2873876659primaryactionlink:link, #yiv2873876659 a.yiv2873876659primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv2873876659 a.yiv2873876659primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv2873876659 a.yiv2873876659primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv2873876659 WordPress.com | Yun Yun posted: “Hooray to the start of May! The torturous month of April is finally over and that continuous non-stop 16 days routine had finally come to its end. I’m finally having my rest day TOMORROW! Say yeah to sleeping without having an alarm clock to make you jump” | |

  3. Yes, hooray to the month of may! yunyun is happy! i’m glad to see that you can start to feel optimistic about things, even when you are thinking about your beloved grandmother.You have a friend in hong kong if you want one. i know that Ellen would like to meet you and show you around. Maybe you could even talk her into going to some nightclubs! lots of cool places in HK…and she needs to break loose a little… works too hard, studies too hard  ;)also i can ask my old and close friend, Fangqing, in Dongguan, if she has time to meet you in Shenzhen where she used to live. it’s an interesting place …but SO big. Dongguan and Guangzhou are probably more interesting…but i guess, too it depends on how much time you have and whether you prefer to see”old china” or “new china”. I always go somewhere for a few months and usually lean towards the old mostly but i found new china very fun too.Shenzhen is all new. Guangzhou has both. Dongguan…welll… i haven’t been there yet but it does have the most beautiful and interesting girl in the world. (I met fq  when she was at school here) That’s enough for me.   It will be a good experience for you to wander around on your own a bit, if this is your first solo trip. but many years of experience tells me that that can be lonely after a while and boring. most of the fun in travelling is in the people you meet.

    From: T H E D R E A M E R To: hipgraham@yahoo.ca Sent: Tuesday, May 5, 2015 9:52 AM Subject: [New post] May #yiv8382921545 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8382921545 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8382921545 a.yiv8382921545primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8382921545 a.yiv8382921545primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8382921545 a.yiv8382921545primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8382921545 a.yiv8382921545primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8382921545 WordPress.com | Yun Yun posted: “Hooray to the start of May! The torturous month of April is finally over and that continuous non-stop 16 days routine had finally come to its end. I’m finally having my rest day TOMORROW! Say yeah to sleeping without having an alarm clock to make you jump” | |

Leave a Reply

